top of page

Everglades Coalition

Public Service Award

The Public Service Award is given to an outstanding elected, appointed, or agency professional who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to advance Everglades restoration. The award was established to honor James D. Webb, former Assistant Secretary of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks at the U.S. Department of the Interior under President Carter. In that capacity, he was instrumental in the development and passage of legislation creating both the Florida Panther and Ten Thousand Islands National Wildlife Refuges, the expansion of the Big Cypress National Preserve. He was instrumental in the expansion of the Everglades National Park and in the authorization of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineer's Northeast Shark River Slough project. He participated in organizing the provisions of the Water Resources Development Act of 1992. Known as a consensus builder, he worked to build local and national alliances on behalf of the restoration of the Everglades and Florida Bay. Today the Everglades Coalition continues to honor one outstanding public servant each year.

Everglades Coalition Blue Bird Green Background Public Service Award Lawmakers American Goverment Change Makers

Award Recipients

2024     Col. Charlette Roman

2023     U.S. Representative Debbie Wasserman-Schultz

2022     Dr. Evelyn Gaiser

2021     Congressman Francis Rooney

2020     Commissioner Daniella Levine Cava

2019     Lt. Col. Jennifer Reynolds

2018     Florida Senate President Joe Negron

2017     Mayor Kevin Ruane

2016     Brian Carlstrom

2015     Congressman Patrick Murphy

2014     Kim Dryden

2013     Senator Bill Nelson

2012     Secretary Jo-Ellen Darcy, Asst. Secretary of the

             Army for Civil Works and Estus Whitfield

2011     Commissioner Ray Judah

2010     Secretary Thomas Pelham, Florida Department of

             Community Affairs

2009     Chairman Eric Buermann, Governing Board, SFWMD

2008     Chris Beldon

2007     Commissioner Kristen Jacobs

2006     Congressman David Hobson

2005     Andrew C. Eller, Jr.

2004     Congressman E. Clay Shaw, Jr.

2003     Congresswoman Carrie Meek

2002     Commissioner Katy Sorenson

2001     Senator Bob Smith

2000     Congressman Ralph Regula

1999     Herb Zebuth

1998     Billy Causey

1997     Terry Rice

1996     Bob Johnson

1995     Theresa Woody

bottom of page