Public Service Award


Public Service Award is given to an outstanding elected, appointed, or agency professional who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to advance Everglades restoration. The award was established to honor James D. Webb, former Assistant Secretary of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks at the U.S. Department of the Interior under President Carter. In that capacity, he was instrumental in the development and passage of legislation creating both the Florida Panther and Ten Thousand Islands National Wildlife Refuges, the expansion of the Big Cypress National Preserve. He was instrumental in the expansion of the Everglades National Park and in the authorization of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineer's Northeast Shark River Slough project. He participated in organizing the provisions of the Water Resources Development Act of 1992. Known as a consensus builder, he worked to build local and national alliances on behalf of the restoration of the Everglades and Florida Bay. Today the Everglades Coalition continues to honor one outstanding public servant each year.

Award Recipients:

2021 Congressman Francis Rooney

2020 Commissioner Daniella Levine Cava

2019 Lt. Col. Jennifer Reynolds

2018 Florida Senate President Joe Negron

2017 Mayor Kevin Ruane

2016 Brian Carlstrom

2015 Congressman Patrick Murphy

2014 Kim Dryden

2013 Senator Bill Nelson

2012 Secretary Jo-Ellen Darcy, Asst. Secretary of the Army for Civil Works and Estus Whitfield

2011 Commissioner Ray Judah

2010 Secretary Thomas Pelham, Florida Department of Community Affairs

2009 Chairman Eric Buermann, Governing Board, SFWMD

2008 Chris Beldon

2007 Commissioner Kristen Jacobs

2006 Congressman David Hobson

2005 Andrew C. Eller, Jr.

2004 Congressman E. Clay Shaw, Jr.

2003 Congresswoman Carrie Meek

2002 Commissioner Katy Sorenson

2001 Senator Bob Smith

2000 Congressman Ralph Regula

1999 Herb Zebuth

1998 Billy Causey

1997 Terry Rice

1996 Bob Johnson

1995 Theresa Woody