Conservationist Award


Conservationist Award was first established to honor George Barley for his tenacious and passionate effort to restore the Everglades. An avid fisher who was troubled by changes he saw firsthand in the waters of Florida Bay, borrowed a friend’s small plane and, over the course of several months, took more than 1,000 people on flights over the Everglades to see and understand the needs of the ecosystem. He convinced dozens of journalists to visit Florida Bay and bring back the story of its destruction to citizens and elected leaders and bringing the national eye to the need to restore America’s Everglades. Ultimately these efforts set the wheels in motion for CERP authorization. Today, the Everglades Coalition continues to honor a conservationist who demonstrates passion and ingenuity in his/her quest to protect and restore the Everglades.

Dennis Goodman Great Egret.jpg

Award Recipients:

2021 Rae Ann Wessel 

2020 Jaclyn Lopez

2019 Captain Daniel Andrews & 

Captain Chris Wittman

2018 Celeste De Palma

2017 John A, Marshall

2016 Aliki Moncrief

2015 Sara Fain

2013 Cynthia Barnett

2012 Thom Rumberger

2011 Nancy Marshall and Paul Parks

2010 Dr. Thomas Van Lent

2009 Shannon Estenoz

2008 Paul Schweip

2007 John Childe

2006 Lisa Interlandi

2005 Franklin B. Adams

2004 Nathaniel P. Reed

2003 Richard Grosso

2002 Maggie Hurchalla

2001 Bill Riley

2000 Oliver Bernstein

1999 Audrey & Frank Peterman

1998 Bradford Sewell

1997 Clyde Butcher

1996 Dr. Jay Zieman